Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In recent years, the whole world has been changing astronomically at the speed of light with the advent of novel ideas and state-of-the-art technologies. Hence, the vivid contrast between the role of intimate friends and strangers has become more visible. When it comes to my stance, by weighing up the pros and cons, as people say "old friends and old wine and old gold are best", I completely hold that lasting friendship brings about mutual understanding and trust which are obviously important to people that I will elaborate on the following by giving two main rationales.

First and foremost, the prime reason why I am of such a belief is that being friends for a long time makes the relationships even stronger than a family because loyalty only can be built as time passes within people who have known each other, which is why old friends have affected our characters and subsequently making decisions. What I mean is that close friends are ones who provide us with a sense of belonging and confident. Ergo, more times we tell them our secrets, concerns and whatever we could not tell anyone even our parents.

By the same token, apart from the fact that making a lasting friendship is not as simple as passing ones but in terms of sociability, building a deep companion shows the level of how you are a competent person. According to official statistics about having a sense of happiness, some people who can strike up a trustworthy friendship feel a great sense of satisfaction about their life. A simple example which will suffice to illustrate this manner is that if somebody does not have the ability to maintain friendships for a long time with a few people that person would face the serious challenge in the critical situations, which is why no one can deny the pivotal role of them in the process of overcoming heavy problems. In other words, these friends are ones that we can rely on them unconditionally.

In conclusion, according to the aforementioned reasons, I totally concur with the initial statement and as an optimistic person believe that It is better to be in chains with friends than to be in a garden with strangers. To sum up, having discussed the rationales, I am of the opinion that having friendships which are kept for a long time even a few ones are much more profitable and valuable vis-à-vis temporary relationships.