Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

University education is a prerequisite for every student to shape their career specializing in one particular area in which they have a profound interest. Before attaining a university education, high-school coursework affords an excellent platform to realize the direction of the students. Regarding the phase between high school and university education, although some may accede to that gap about a year to travel or work will be detrimental to the career of the individual, I argue that it will a far more beneficial for several reasons. I will be substantiating my position in the following paragraphs.

The foremost reason why I am in support of a particular idea is: it will help the students to fully explore their interests and confirm what they like to do in their careers. In today's world, only a few of the students can decide what they like to do in their career and choose particular subjects in their university may be due to their incapability of taking decisions or any other factors. Thus, it is paramount to make wise decisions based upon one's interest and proceed accordingly. For the supporting example, one needs no look further than my own experience. After completing my high school degree (with a science major), I started working in the ward community as a junior assistant to a technical engineer. During the process, I experienced the impact of civil engineering on the society of such rural communities as I was assisting him with the reconstruction of earthquake-resistant houses. Consequently, I realized my propensity towards civil engineering. Subsequently, after 9 months of working as a junior assistant, I got admitted to the university with a civil engineering major. Had I not worked for that period, I would not have realized my interest.

Another subtle reason that strengthens my argument is that students will have the opportunity to garnish some of the additional skills that will certainly aid them in the process of university education. Four years of study greatly demands a host of things including your effort and also, the sum of money for tuition fees and living expenses. So in a year's time, you can easily focus on something that will augment your skills. The evident example can be seen in one of my friend's academic journeys. Coming from the rural community of Nepal, he felt that he was quite short of the funds required for the first year of his undergraduate study. Therefore, he decided to take a few time gaps and cater coffee training skills working in the popular coffee show. He invested almost a year in it and as a result, he was able to land a part-time job as the coffee maker in the five-star restaurants (which obviously pays well) to fund his education. Finally, he was very happy to study his subject of interest. As you can see, catering skills will be beneficial for the students.

Recapitulating all the above-mentioned reasons, I affirm that gap will be extremely beneficial as it will confirm your interests in your career and assist to develop some beneficial skills.