Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

As the famous proverb says, "History is the mirror of the future". Grounded on this proverb, since the dawn of the civilization, studying history played a prominent role in the progress of nations. In this sense, there is a heated controversy about studying history in universities. Despite the arguments asserting that history classes are a waste of time and energy, I believe otherwise, maintaining that students, regardless of their field of study, must attend the history classes. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two motives to elaborate my standpoint.

First and foremost, the crux of the matter lies in the fact that studying history can be informative to the student in the face of the future predicaments. University students, as the pioneers of the society, have the fate of the nation in their hands. Accordingly, students must possess practical information and skills, namely, ability of analyzing, planning, hardworking and to the like. In this sense, one of the most powerful tools is the history. By studying history and stories of victory and failure of individual in the course of the time, one can obtain the ability of detailed analyzing events, plan a prosperous strategy, and find a guide for the future problems. Moreover, history is repetitive in nature, consequently, the study of history brings about the fact that in this ever-shifting world, the winner is who learn from history to do not make a mistake twice. There are a copious number of examples in the course of the history about kings and leaders who were doomed to failure due to the ignoring the invaluable guide, history.

Another salient point in corroborating my stance in this subject is that studying history requires the student to use both brain's hemisphere, and as a result, brings about a better efficiency. Due to the fact that in universities every student concentrates on a narrow field of science, their brain grows biased. In fact, they are unable to have different approaches toward problems, and based on their fields of study, their minds are orientated in one direction. However, by studying history, not only does their mood will change, but the history will equip them with new skills and attitudes. Take my personal experience as an example. Based on my field of study, history is not in my daily life routine. However, in a class at university, a professor introduced a history book about ancient Egypt and explained how studying a book about people lived thousands years ago help to develop new ideas even in the field of chemical engineering. This new attitude helped me do not insist on my former attitude and try to look to the problem in a different way.

To put it briefly, all the enumerated points above converge to the significance of studying history for university students due to the facts that history is informative and brings about new insight into problems. It is recommended that universities encourage students to attend in history classes enjoy benefits of this invaluable phenomenon.