Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

It is obvious whether each student have to take history courses is always a complicated issue for every college student. It seems to a lot of students that studying history is not essential for everyone, especially to the one whose major is natural science or engineering.

Unfortunately, history is not like engineering which could create profits for the company or produce consumer goods for the society. If I know a lot about the history of our country or the civilization of the world, what will be different in my daily life? Actually, nothing is going to change and that’s the reason why in some students’ opinion, history is “useless”. They don’t care about the things that couldn’t benefit them immediately, while in my opinion these attitudes to the history are likely to be more harmful than helpful.

First of all, history is the path of the development of civilization. History is the answer that why the modern society is like the environment we live now but not like the environment of medieval. Why we need to build a country of ethnic? Why we work five days a week? Why we need to build a modern voting system? In fact, if you were a farmer who live in the rural of Ottoman Empire, you won’t have all the things we mentioned above. We have these now, not only because we are living in North America or European Union, but also because our history has told us why these are the better choice and if we lost them what will happen to us. So, the most important things we learned from the history is why some tragic just happened because of the ideology of the society and how we get out of these.

In addition, we need to learn the history to know the way we build the modern life and we also need to construct a better world for our kids. In the books of history, the methods which could solve the problems we met in our daily life could also be found. It’s not the meaning that we can find the exact answer about the discrimination of LGBT or the protection of animals in the history books. We could solve these in the same basic theory we accepted in the past. A hundred years ago, we said different race is different. Fifty years ago, we said different gender is different. Now, we said different orientation is different. Actually, it’s the same logic hided in these questions that our world is facing. History had told us both the white and the black are the same, both the male and female are the same. And now, we need to call to the whole society that different orientation is the same. That’s what the history we had learned told us what’s the right way we need to choose.

After what we had discussed above, we can easily come to the conclusion that everyone has the necessity to learn about the history.