Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Courses, the founding stone of students' university life, have been valued and even trigger heated discussion over whether students should be required to attend history courses. History modules, in some people's views, are unessential for university students. Contrary to these people's views is my perspective that university students should be required to enroll in history courses due to the contribution to their academic learning and personal development.

What should be prioritized is that setting history courses to be compulsory, compared with making it to be selective, can benefit students' academic life by facilitating getting a wide range of knowledge and sparking their interests. To begin with, prioritizing history courses is conducive to providing students with a great deal of knowledge. To be specific, when getting immersed in learning historic events, such as the modern technology evolution, the second world war, and the discovery of new continents, we can master details of such events, receiving a great quantity of knowledge; on the contrary, such instructions from history could not be obtained by college students if they are not forced to join such history courses. Moreover, by scrutinizing relevant historical materials in the classes, students would gradually have an interest in history. Specifically, when taking history classes, students may find that they have an information gap in this subject matter, which will motivate them to investigate related materials to reduce this gap, encouraging their interests; in contrast, hardly can such motivation occur if students drop history courses freely.

What should be equally worth discussing is that being required to learn history, instead of dropping history courses, is also beneficial for students' development by enabling students to foster time management skills and interpersonal skills. Firstly, by taking history courses, students can foster the quality of persistence. Being required to register for history courses means that some students' workload is increased, stimulating them to better manage their time, such as prioritizing the core tasks, and aiding in establishing their time management strategies; on the other hand, how can students develop time-managing skills if they have a few courses to take? What's more, taking history courses also helps develop their interpersonal skills. In detail, students need to do group projects, such as discussing the origin of an event and making presentations, which force them to cooperate and communicate with others, sharpening their interpersonal skills; by contrast, such skills could hardly be gained if they can take the course freely.

To conclude, students should be required to take history curriculums owing to the benefits of their academic learning and personal development.