Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

Nowadays, with the advent of modernization, more and more employers are seeking for high-end talents and professionals to enhance their companies overall competitiveness, thus creating a much more throat-cutting job market than before. Under this circumstance, universities are planning to require all the students to take more compulsory basic courses, which could equip them with more knowledge and secure them a promising future career and among all the subjects, history is undoubtedly one of them. Some people assert that it is indeed necessary for all university students to sign up for history courses regardless of their major might be. Nevertheless, from my perspective, not all of them should be required to take the history class and how many students should take history courses depend on their own major.

Firstly, it is unnecessary for IT majors to learn history courses. If we consider/take into account/factor in what IT students’ future job might be, it is a lot more likely that most of them would sit in front of their computers or laptops, stare at their screen and program all sorts of useful and time-saving software. Take Bill Gates, the founder of the well-known Microsoft Corporation, for example. Before he turned Microsoft into a successful commercial software company, Bill himself also began his career as an average software engineer. Fortunately, thanks to his marvelous expertise, he then stood out in his career and grabbed the very chance to establish his commercial empire. Although he doesn’t know the slightest piece of history knowledge, he could still succeed in that his success has nothing to do with history but his outstanding specialty, persistent character and destiny’s favor.

Secondly, accounting majors also are those students who don’t need to learn history. During the four-year university period, accounting majors are not only burdened with loads of assignments and presentations but plenty of professional qualifications to acquire, from CPA to ACCA (abbreviations for both Certified Public Accountant and The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants). If these students want to ensure a lucrative career in the future, it is better for them to spend more time preparing for these essential certificates. For instance, my brother, who also majors in accounting always stays up late to cram for his exams, papers and certificates because to him how to find a decent job is the first priority after his graduation.

Of course, some students majoring in English and archeology may need to take history courses, because knowing something in history could deepen their understanding of their major study. For instance, if an English major has an idea of what once happened to Britain in the past hundreds of years and how it has shaped the country’s current culture, he could better understand the evolution of English language as a whole, what their language looked like during Shakespeare’s time and why poet would write some poems with certain contents.

In a nutshell, it is absurd to assert that all university students should be required to take part in history courses but for some majors, such as English and archeology, learning is definitely a plus.