Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The 21th century has witnessed a rapid growth of arts and sports. However, since both of these activities are highly relied on government support, there is a debate on which of these activities should have more state support. Contrary to the idea hold by many people that governments should spend more money on arts, personally governments should focus their financial supports on sports, especially the support of athletics.

Initially, support of athletics could benefit people's health. it is no doubt that athletics is a good model who could attract people to participate in sports. since playing sports is able to improve people's health in different ways, the more people are involved in sports, the health the country will be. Imagine there is a state-sponsored athletic won the first prize in Olympic swimming game, people in the state will be encouraged by his achievement and take part in swimming. As we all know, swimming help people reduce fat and keep fit. As a result, the fat ratio will decrease and people in the state will become healthier, which could also reduce cost of state on health industry.

Moreover, support of athletics could build sports industry. Nowadays, sports industry has become a rising star in world market. some sports events like the world cup and Super Bowl often bring a huge amount of money to athletics, sports teams and other related industry. And support of athletics could attract them to play in the state, which will build local sports industry. For example, when I was young, a sportsman my hometown, a small city, won a very good prize in the national tennis competition. This event encourages lots of people nearby to take part in the tennis games in my hometown, which results in a huge growth of tennis-related industry in my hometown. What's more, the local government even surprisingly found that our local GDP had a surge these years.

Surely, governments could develop art industry by supporting arts. But the market value of it will be less compared to sports industry, since most people are more interested in sports competition like world cup, instead of art exhibition.

In conclusion, although supporting arts could have some benefits, supporting sports and athletics should be more efficient investment which could benefit both people's health and state economy for the government.