Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To be successful in business, companies must put more money in advertising.

Advertisement has become a hot topic, because nowadays we can see too many advertisements—on TV, on website, in streets, in underground, and even in a toilet. Many of us think advertisement is a waste of money for companies. Admittedly, it takes a large sum of money for companies to advertise products, so less money can be used to improve the products or service. In my opinion, however, highlighting features, increasing the popularity, and building up a good company image are reasons for me to support that a successful company should advertise its products or service.

To begin with, let us think about what we can gain from advertising: a company can distinguish its products from its competitors. Nowadays, how to make their products’ features known by customers perplexes most of the companies. It is not difficult for us to notice that products look almost the same to each other, resulting that the sale of a product is easily influenced by emotional factor of customers. However, if we can show products’ key feature on advertisements, we will ease the problem. For instance, although smart phones are produced by many different companies, they may all have a monitor with the same size, a shell with the same color and shape, and a home button under the monitor. With little difference, most customers choose Xiaomi, a low-quality smart phone produced by a Chinese company, according to recommendation from friends or salesmen, rather than according to the function or quality of the phone. But after Xiaomi’s competitor Huawei, which produce phone with higher technology, told the difference on advertisement to customers, the situation has improved.

Another benefit is that advertisement can help a company to attract people who don’t know this kind of product before to buy its products. Just imagine you have never bought a digital camera and know little about what is a good digital camera, what will probably happen when you want to buy one to record important moment in your life? You are likely to choose one you have seen in advertisement for many times because we are inclined to choose things we are familiar with. Therefore, advertisement can improve the sale from customers who buy this kind of product for the first time.

Apart from what we have discussed above, that advertisement can elevate company image is also worth mentioning. Most of us are willing to be considered as beautiful, fashionable, or honorable, so if a company, by advertising, can make its customers think that they will look fashionable or honorable with their products, more people will buy them. Take BMW, an automobile manufacturer, as example. According to a survey from a business research company, the sale of BMW has fifty percent increase after the broadcast of its advertisement in which a successful and handsome businessman drives its car to travel around and have party with pretty ladies, because customers think that they will live a similar life like the man in the advertisement if they have such a car.

To sum up, a successful company needs people to buy its products, and knowing your products is the first step to buy your products. So, in my point of view, I am in favor of the given suggestion because advertisements do an excellent job in popularizing products.