Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world is becoming like a fast car, which increases its speed every day, and humans are the passengers of this car, who actually make this car faster. Being happy and satisfied in such situation is getting harder and harder, but there are some reasons that people are finding their way of being happy, despite the increasing the speed of their life.

At first, one thing that has strong effects on our happiness is how we work and how we enjoy our work. Since one of the main goals of any individual is working and being a useful person for his or her society, working faster or even more than before can make him or her happier. Actually, this increase can be challenging for most people, and every person can examine his or her ability to be successful in that challenge, and thereby become happier. For example, if someone does a task every day and there would not be such big problems or difficulties against him or her, they will adapt to that situation, and after a while, they will not enjoy their job anymore, because it becomes boring for them. On the other hand, if they face some new issues, like doing more job or some challenging job, which needs to work quickly, they will solve new problems, and it makes them happier.

The other thing is that, although people are working faster these days, they use their leisure more productive. In the past, because people had more free time, they did not spend it efficiently, since they thought they have so much time. But today, because there is not so much time for recreation, people use their free time properly, like they travel or gather together more often. I remember when I finished my bachelor, I started to rest for a while, about two months, and then start a job or continue my education. The two month relaxing was very satisfying, so I decided to extend it for four or five months. But, after two or three weeks, I started feeling bored, and I was tired all the time, I did some works in that period, like going to the gym or part-time teaching at an elementary school, but I did not have a regular and productive job. So I decided to end my vacation and back to work, which makes me become more satisfied.

In the end, one way, and probably the best way, of being happy and satisfy is working and facing new issues, especially the work that we like, so in the case of more working there will be more challenges and more ways to work out these challenges. Although, the speed of work should not increase that much, so we cannot enjoy our free time, or even have enough time to do our regular job.