Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The best way for parents to teach their children about responsibility is to have them care for an animal.

It is an increasing widespread discussion about the issue of how to cultivate children’s responsibility. Some people believe that the best way is to let children care for a pet. However, I don’t regard it as an effective way.

Firstly, this method, in most cases, will not work at all, as the work of caring a pet usually falls on parents’ shoulders. To be specific, raising an animal means giving him food as well as making him regularly bathed and groomed, sounding so demanding and even out of children’s ability. Accordingly, some may argue if children are compelled to do the chores on a daily basis, chances are high that the sense of responsibility would be gained. While just as far as clearing a cat’s waste is concerned, children will certainly flee away, let alone walking dogs no matter how cold on an icy winter or hot during a scorching summer afternoon. Besides, some parents just would not be pleased to make their children spend time on chores every day. In order to make children have more time to concentrate on school study or play the piano, they would do the work by themselves, despite the original intent of cultivating children’s responsibility.

Secondly, having an animal at home can be bothersome sometimes. Pets bring families much pleasure, but at the same time also carry bacteria, which is dangerous for humans, especially children. People have pets, apart from those odd ones like snake, for intimate company just like family members. Plus, pets like cats and dogs are usually lovely and docile. For those children who do not have brothers or sisters, pets usually become their friends or playmates. Although children may not shoulder the responsibility of caring pets, they enjoy their pets’ company. They talk with them, embrace them and even share food with them. Because of such close contact, children who are so fragile may get infected and even seriously attacked by such infection.

Thirdly, some safer and more effective methods would cultivate children’s responsibility. Children, who are fascinated with playing football and basketball, would definitely learn how to be responsible from those team games. One experience of playing such game would enable them to understand how it works. No one is single, but a team member, and everyone’s performance does count for the whole team. For such games, children would learn to think for others as well as the whole team’s victory.

To conclude, making children have a pet is not the best way to cultivate their responsibility and we actually have a better choice.