Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Voting is one of the most essential rights of any citizen in a democratic country. Considering the rapid technological advancements which bring effective psychological and physical changes to a child at an early age, I believe age should not be a hindrance for voting. In my opinion, children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote.

Firstly, the rapid advancements in the field of media and the internet have brought revolutionary changes in the life of young children. They are becoming more and more aware of their constitution. Moreover, due to the knowledge gained from the internet, it's very easy for them to identify the social concerns in their constituency. They now can easily make out the difference between a good and a bad candidate. For eg, I remember a few months back when there were assembly elections in my country, I was shocked to listen to one of my cousins of age 16. He was able to list down all the concerns in our society along with how the contending candidates have fared out from their previous elections. Hence, due to this display of maturity by children above 15 years, they should be allowed to vote.

Secondly, children from ages 15 to 18 form a major part of the entire population. Hence, if they aren't allowed to vote then the elected government would not be a correct representation of the entire population. Also, we all know these children are the ones who will shape the future of the country. Hence, deciding upon the good or bad candidate will make them more responsible and strong in decision-making. For eg. in my country around 40% of the youth population lies under the age of 15 to 18. And, the minimum age to vote is 18, so the elected government is only the voice of the rest 60%. Also, in my country as per the statistics released by the children welfare department show that this 40 % of the children between 15 and 18 years are psychologically strong enough to vote.

Lastly, I would say that these young children are the driving force of the success of the country. Also, as the rapid communication advancements make thinking of the children bold enough to decide between good and bad and as these children form a major part of the population, I believe children above 15 years of age must be allowed to vote.