Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Communicative skills are of great importance to the career success of leaders.

it is never easy to lead, no matter for a leader in a company or of a country. they have to possess various abilities and skills to do the job well. some people claim that communicative skills are the most important quality that is required for a successful leader. From my perspective, I cannot agree it more. Indeed, how well they can communicate with people plays a key role in their career. my reasons and examples are given below.

In the first place, smooth communication makes it easy and efficient for leaders to do their jobs. As is known to all, the primary job of a leader is to arrange his employees well and maximize their potentials. Equipped with incredible communicative skills, a leader can make others understand his intensions very well and carry out his plans as quickly as possible. Otherwise, a big amount of time and energy will be wasted in endless communications and explanations. For example, my father is the manager of a big company. Albeit extremely busy at work, he is still able to strike a perfect balance between work and life, thanks to his excellent ability to communicate.

In addition, leaders can always get emotional support because of their wonderful communicative skills. As a proverb goes, language is power. To some extent, how well a person talks determines the extent of his or her popularity. The law especially applies to leaders. Taking American president election as an example, why those candidates pay so much attention to speeches and debates on media. it is because the use of language is a major part of a leader’s charisma and a speech or debate is their great opportunity to present their talent in communication, and voters mostly favor those with better communicative skills.

Admittedly, I am not denying the importance of some other qualities that a leader should have, such as time management ability, teamwork spirit and coordinating skills. However, all these qualities above are relatively minor factors if compared with communicative skills, play a fundamental role in a leader’s career, because every single other ability cannot do without the communicative skills.

To sum up, good communicative skills mean a lot to a leader. it is not only because they can bring a higher working efficiency, but also they can make a leader favorable and popular.