Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The way people dress is a good indication of his or her personality or character.

In the modern society, people have various choices of dress and it becomes a way to express themselves. Thus, the phenomenon ignites public debate about whether the way people dress can indicate their character. From my perspective, dressing reflects one's personality, since it can represent what his or her job is, and how he or she thinks about themselves.

First and foremost, the way people dress can illustrate their job. In specific fields, workers are required to dress in uniform during worktime. Meanwhile, most companies have rigid rules about employees' dress. As a result, people can make a basic conclusion about one's job through what they wear. For example, a doctor is often white-coated, police are always dressing in a brilliant police uniform and a judge dresses himself in judge clothes. A job is able to be a reflection of one's character due to the fact that those who choose the job have something in common, such as doctors are usually more patient and cautious, policies tend to have more courage. Therefore, to some extent, dress can reflect one's character.

In addition, dressing is a mirror to reflect how people think about themselves, which is also an indication of their personality. people would prefer those clothes to suit their temperament as well as to become a person whom they want to be. Hence, it offers some clues about what an individual thinks about. For example, a person dressed in traditional clothes, like han suit in china, represents his love of the traditional culture and the country. most people wearing han suits are associated themselves with china and have a high self-identity of Chinese traditional culture, such as peace and love. Under these circumstances, people can convey their personality by the clothes they wear.

Admittedly, I concede that sometimes, people are forced to follow strict rules about wearing clothes so that it is hard for them to show their personality by dressing. For instance, when attending a formal situation, most people are required to wear western dress and leather shoes. Given the fact that most people look the same, it is difficult for people to distinguish each person according to their dress. However, a part of people will wear accessories like watches, rings or necklaces, which also represent character. Even we can draw a conclusion that those people without accessories prefer simple and tend to follow rules directly.

To put it in a nutshell, the way of dressing reflects one's job and thought about themselves, which is a good method for others to indicate their personality and character.