Some people always follow their dreams even if the dreams are ambitious. Some think we should focus on achieving realistic goals. Which do you agree with? Why?

No matter when and where the person lives in, everyone has his own dream, from winning a small basketball game to exploring the unknown universe. thus, when it comes to dream, opinions among people spilt: some favor those ambitious dreams while others prefer those more realistic one. From my perspective, a goal that can be exactly achieved is better. Three reasons for it stand out.

In the first place, a realistic dream has higher chance to be achieved. As is known to us, to do somethings that no one experienced is really difficult. Therefore, achieving a realistic goal is easier thank to various of experience made by others online. so that people can refer these information and carry out a plan that is suit for themselves, which is feasible and paves way for them to become successful. For example, Sue, one of my best friends, her dream is becoming a veterinary and she has prepared for it for a long time. she leart a lot through internet by reading how other people become a veterinary so that she participated in volunteer activities related to animal such as taking care for dogs in the settler, which becomes a experience in her personal statement when she applying for school. As a result, she now has graduated for a veterinary school and her dream come true at the end. it is because her dream is realistic and she make a detailed plan for it that make it achieved.

In addition, those people who have a realistic dream will gain more confidence. As what is mention above, those ambitious dreams are difficult. Hence, when an individual usually fail in what he is doing, he might lose the confidence in achieving his goal. By contrast, a person can smoothly finish each step of his realistic goal according to his plan, which brings him a great amount of sense in self-achievement. Under these circumstances, the sense of confidence leads him to step further in the way to achieve his dream. one of my classmate is a good point in case. In the high school, his goal is to become a scientist that contributes a lot to human beings but when we chose the major in the university, he changes his idea because after two years of science study, he find it really difficult for himself to understand math formula and he finally gave up. only confidence can help us to go further in the way to achieve our goal.

Admittedly, I am not denying that an ambitious dream has its own value. An ambitious dream often contributes a lot to human society and improve its field to a new level, such as those people who aims to explore the universe. However, this kind of goal is not suitable for every one and hard to achieve. On contrast, a realistic goal also can benefit society a lot in different fields. Anyway, only achieving a goal and obtaining a result can have value. If a person only has a dream but cannot achieve, no matter how ambitious the dream is, it just a waste of time but have nothing in vain.

To sum up, based on the discussion above, we can draw a conclusion that realistic goal is better than other ambitious ones. A realistic goal has two-bonus: one is easier to complete, the other is helping to cultivate one’s confidence, thus encourage to walk further in his life.