In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Jobs play an integral role in everyday life because people spend a significant amount of time at workplace every day. Having a secure and suitable job would provide people with a feeling of satisfaction in their life; therefore, choosing a job is of the great importance. Although many believe that diversity of jobs in this modern world is in favor of people and nowadays people are prone to easily find a job that suits to them, I hold an opposite point of view. I am of the opinion that in the past it was easier to find a favorable job than today.

First, In the past, people had fewer choices and they had not a wide range of options for choosing a job. This would lead people to remain persistent in doing their job after being employed and do not think of changing their occupation because the job opportunities were limited and scarce. Since being persistent in a job would lead people to prosper in their job and take advantage of their accumulated experience, people were likely to become successful in their job. On the other hand, nowadays, a massive number of jobs are available for the job applicants, which makes it hard to evaluate different job opportunities and eventually make a decision. In addition, people are prone to change their occupation after a short period due to numerous job opportunities. Therefore, they cannot accumulate experience and gain skill in a single activity. As a result lack of experience prevent people from thriving in their job.

Furthermore, In the past, most of the industries and companies used to belong to the government so the employees could take advantage of government's support. This is because government behaves all people same and aims to keep the community satisfied. Indeed, this community would support the government because all of its needs are met. Unlike to the past, nowadays private sector has proliferated and a vast number of big corporations are belonged to affluent individuals rather than government. Evidently, the owner of companies do not care about welfare of the people and just think of their own profit. Therefore, workers and employees are not supported by their employer because they can easily be substituted by other job applicants.

It is fair to conclude that nowadays people struggle to find a secure job, while in the past it was easy. This is because people had fewer choices in the past and were persistent in their job, and because government would support the people in the past.