Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A good leader should spend more time listening to other people's ideas than taking his or her own ideas.

A controversy is often raised about the qualities of a good leader. Some groups of people may hold the view that a good leader should implement his own ideas and thoughts. However, others may hold a different view and feel that a good leader should listen to others before taking action. From my vantage point, I concur with the latter groups and feel that leaders should listen to others because of the following reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that a good listener leader increases employees' productivity. An active listener leader can understand what the fierce conservation author Susan scott describes as " the ground truth" which enables leader to understand what is going on behind the scene. Without active listening leaders may lose connection with their employees.This will ultimately results in loss of trust, low employees engagement, and loss of productivity. A vivid example which illustrate by view is the experience I had in my previous job with my manager. His wisdom and open minded personality helped me not only to feel satisfied about my job, but to excel and utilize my full abilities.

However, there are many other benefit leaders provide to organization. No one person including the manager has all the answers, especially in today complex business environment, but the one thing that everybody agrees on is that active listener leaders enhances cooperation between team members. In other words, active listening can create synergy between team members. Thus, instead of every employee work on his own to solve problems, the whole organization would benefit from the experience of employees because listening allow them to share their tactics.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first to cross my mind at a glance, they are by no means the only reasons available. In fact, there is another subtle reason available. The noteworthy, refreshing, intelligible results of the study published in the American business Journal which showed that active listener leaders bring significant profits to their organizations. The study was conducted on 120 organization of different sectors inorder to prevent bias.

Contemplating the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that organizations without active listener leaders have a lot to lose. Loss of employees productivity, loss of profits, and loss of team work are only a few examples of such losses