television has positive effect on our society

Many people believe that television is a blessing because it provides amusements to it's fans. However, others think that television is a curse because of many reasons. In my opinion, although some people may not agree with me, I think that watching television has many drawbacks and it is better to limit the time a person spend watch it. Television is a main cause of obesity and it hinder people from taking advantage of their time.

First, television does not promote healthy life style. Many people spend so much time watching television which causes them to eat more, drink more, and do less exercise. Eventually, This sedentary life style would result and an increase in body weight. Obesity is a major cause of many diseases which include diabetes, hypertension, and heart diseases. The longer hours we spend watching television, the more we are prone to such diseases. Moreover, watching television discourages people to exercise. For instance, yesterday, I went back from work and had a plan to go jogging. However, when I sat for couple of minutes on the television, I lost interest. Concomitantly, they were broadcasting my favorite movie. As a result, I did not go that day.

Secondly, watching television does not encourage students to learn. After school, Students have home works and many parents find it difficulties to prevent their children from watching television. For example, my son had a math exam last Friday, and he was being distracted because of a football game that was being broadcast-ed between Manchester united and Liverpool. Thus he was not able concentration on his exam.

Finally, although watching television provides some amusements, it may hinder a person for practicing his or her hobbies. For example, many people like to play music or sports, or even read a book. Unfortunately, without knowing, a person feels drifted away from doing his favorite things. For example, my daughter plays the piano, and every time she sits to watch television, she refrain from practicing. Therefore, I strongly, discourage her from wasting her time.

In Conclusion, Watching television may provide some amusement. However, it is a double sword edge. Television promotes unhealthy life style, and hinder s people from practicing their favorite hobby.