Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether governments should invest more money in support of the arts than in support of sports can be weighed in many aspects. However, not all locations are the same.

Admittedly, the author's claim may appear to have considerable merits. In certain areas, investing in arts rather than sports does have much more positive impacts. Take Italy as an example. During the Renaissance, Italy was the abode of numerous talented artists. Their legacies help bolster the local economy, tens of thousands of tourists come from every place on earth just to appreciate their artworks. Therefore, the Italian government should spend more money in support of preserving the advantages that create the prosperity of Italy.

However, not every place is the same. When we speak of governments, the following come to mind: governments in the area that sports activities prevail and governments in the area where arts flourish. Obviously, the latter should invest more in support of the arts, while others may not.

It is thus justifiable to take both kinds of governments into account, and we will find the statement problematic. Consider a nation that features itself with a certain kind of sports, if their government gives up their advantages or traditions and alternatively spends money in such field their societies are not familiar with, the originally burgeoning sports industry may collapse, and no one can guarantee whether will they succeed in the newly invested arts field, which will possibly lead to some degree of economical depression. For instance, the Republic of Cuba, which is famous for outputting talented baseball players, if they suddenly shift the aid from training baseball player into a certain field of arts, not only will the baseball world lose a bunch of fresh arms and bats, but also will their economy suffer.

In summary, the statement is not as persuasive as it stands. Although in some areas, aiding in artwork can buttress their economy, not every place is the same. If sport-flourished governments intentionally want to change funding or assistance into such a field they are not familiar with, the result may possibly backfire no matter how good the ambition or intention firstly is. According to my exposition, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.