Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

It’s hard to deny that arts such as calligraphy and other traditional or modern arts have always been an important part in our life. Many families are supporting their child to study arts. And such fact may mislead ingenious people to form the opinion that government should spend more money in supporting of arts than in support of athletics. However, such statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies and it should be reconsidered meticulously. As far as positive influence on the public, the economic impact and national pride are concerned, I hold the view that governments should invest more money in athletics rather than in arts.

First and foremost, sports will boost social average health and welfare. Sports provide exercise and teach teamwork, discipline and working ethic. Countries that support athletics at a young age tend to have lower obesity rates and healthier populations. Government funding for athletics, especially for the youth, pays off in the long run through a healthier and more productive society.

Furthermore, the economic impact of hosting major athletic events is much bigger than holding art exhibits. Olympics attracts significant tourism revenue. Visitors flock to enter the stadium watching sports competitions, generating business for local hotels, restaurants and transportation systems. Take 2008 Beijing Olympics as an example, Chinese government invest a lot in building new stadiums, new transportation lines and other Olympics related amusement parks. The huge number of visitors makes the investment worth in really short time. However, arts exhibitions usually don’t have that scale which definitely have less economic impact.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that art can make public be aware of ethic and history of our own country. However, we should know that compared with athletic, the scale of audience is smaller and shallower. The victory of sports game is more solid and visible than the accomplishment in arts. And the athletic celebrity can inspire young children to participate in sports game and raise their sense of patriotism and ethical pride.

In a nutshell, I maintain that government should spend more money in supporting athletics. Admittedly, some people may oppose my opinion. However, as what Henry Bessemer once said, he had no fixed ideas derived from long-established practice to control or bias his mind, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.