Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state sponsored Olympic teams

Nowadays, with global finance experiencing an economic downturn, governments are now considering how to distribute their fundings in different fields. Some policymakers and practitioners assert that there should be more financial supports on arts rather than athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams, others think otherwise. Personally speaking, I incline to the perspective that athletics are more worth supporting. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, investment for athletics will result in the formation of patriotism which could be embedded in all the citizens’ mind.The primary reason is that preeminent athletics have profound influence among nations and always be regarded as role models. By exerting such influence with remarkable accomplishment, people will be inspired and raise deep sense of proudness for their country. Brazil, for instance, undergone a severe economic downturn during the 1950s, which made citizens feel hopeless for their country. Rebellions and riots could disintegrate the country at any time. However, it was the breakthrough made by national football team that changed the situation. Leading by genius player, Pele, Brazil team unprecedentedly won the championship of FIFA World Cup in 1958. Everyone cheered and held carnivals to celebrate their success. With the inspiration of athletics, Brazilians narrowed the gap of diversion, combined together and restored the faith to their country. Thus, the emphasis of supporting athletics in order to build a coherent society is significant.

Another reason drives me to indicate is that the economical facet of sports as an independent industry is essential for the whole country. To be more specific, the chains of sports industry, including broadcasting games, tickets selling, stadium managing, etc, could yield a higher profit margin for the nation. Moreover, government’s financial burden for unemployment will be alleviated since myriad jobs in sports industry are available for numerous people. For example, a research carried by Tokyo University shows that in the long run, the investment spent in sports have positive effect on overall economy. According to their statistic, every $10,000,000 expenditure in the national Olympic teams could bring 13% of profit ratio and decrease 5% of unemployment rate in the following 10 years. Therefore, governments should support athletics for potential economical benefits.

Nevertheless, some people still argue that arts deserves more supporting for it can improve national image. The more talented artists in a country, the more attractive the nation will be. Yet such statement suffers from both logical and factual fallacies, as sports can better act as the same function. With more people participated in, sports is undeniably the mainstream recreation and more capable to attain the same goal than arts.

In a nutshell, judging from what I have mentioned above, I should reinforce my perspective that governments should spend more money to support athletics.