Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Governments should spend more money in support of the arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

By and large, the ways governments should allocate and spend their budget has always been a decisive factor in pushing society forward and guarantee prosperity for people. In this regard, one crucial question that is a place of contradiction is whether governments should reduce the budget they spend on athletics and use it to support the arts. I think governments should use more financial resources on art compared to other areas like athletic activities. In what follows, I will elaborate on two reasons to substantiate my perspective.

Firstly, I contend that the majority of people can benefit from artistic activities when governments put their effort and budget into promoting arts in society. In other words, from making art to showing art in museums and exhibitions, both artists and ordinary people can enjoy these creations. As a result, when governments support artists financially, those artists who spend their immense asset of skills and time creating pieces of music or drawing astonishing paintings can deliver artworks that are richer in quality. Adding to that, people who attend concerts or visit art galleries can have a more exciting experience, spending time on more valuable art pieces. In contrast, although spending more money on athletics can bring prosperity for them, fewer people can benefit from their success. For instance, when an athlete wins a medal in an Olympics, although he makes sense of pride for his people, it's a temporary feeling. It is not as consistent as adding to the heritage of one nation's culture with unforgettable arts.

Secondly, my conviction is that arts are one of the most significant factors that can determine the prosperity of a nation. Also, it is a considerable way to have a positive impression on people and make cultural changes in society. To be more specific, when governments pay more attention to their artists, more and more people are encouraged to participate in these kinds of activities. It goes without saying that when people are more concerned about topics like art, the country can move toward a nourishing culture that can bring other advances. For example, one can consider the case of the Renaissance, when artists took the lead with their cultural revolution and promoted important concepts through their artwork. Through the effortless activities of artists at that time, people were attracted to arts and culture, which helped them broaden their viewpoint and make fruitful changes in their lives. By increasing people's awareness, they managed to bring prosperity to their societies. Had they not had talented artists, they could not make long-lasting cultural shifts that brought success for them.

According to the reasons mentioned above, it is a foregone conclusion that the arts have an essential effect on society. Artwork can be considered as a way to convey thoughtful ideas. So, governments should prioritize artists and spend more money on facilitating their activities since the community can be deeply affected by artists and their works.