Some people believe that smaller colleges and universities provide students with a better educational experience by, for example, offering more individual attention to each student. Other people believe that larger colleges and universities provide a better educational experience. Which view do you agree with and why?

Nowadays, in order to catch up with the soaring demand for advanced education, more and more universities and colleges are considering how to adjust their scale. As a result, an argument between choosing the larger or the smaller ones gains lots of concern among students.Personally speaking, in terms of educational experience, I would be inclined to choose larger universities for the two reasons presented below.

Firstly, students in larger colleges can be more comprehensive and versatile in different areas. Larger universities have much more different majors, professional teachers and advanced facilities. Therefore, if students attend such kind of university, it is highly possible for them to choose more courses that are not related to their own majors since more optional courses are available. Meanwhile, it is not uncommon a phenomenon that the more diversified courses a university have, the better study experience students will enjoy. Undeniably, because larger universities have sufficient fund to purchase more teaching facilities, whereby students can explore their interests in different fields and find the stage to show their talents.

Secondly, individual’s social circle can be enlarged in larger universities, which will bring potential benefits. More students around in such colleges indicates that more helpers in study and life. For example, I was once an extremely ingoing and shy person, with rarely connection to others. At the same time, my grades suffered in the case of my fear with talk. The situation above was my status five years ago which was awful. However, after I transferred to a larger university, everything changed drastically. Encouraged by new teachers and kind classmates, I started to talk with others for help, to exchange latest information with peers, to chat freely with professors in different classes. Eventually, my ingoing characteristic changed, and my grades improved steadily. There certainly exists numerous similar cases, and they both demonstrate the merits brought by the larger universities.

Nevertheless, some people assert that small universities have more teachers to care for students, thus learners can have better educational experience. It is true that caring would be more with more teachers accompanying small number of students. In practice, though, the essential part of the university’s experience has been omitted. Students, especially in colleges and universities, need to deal with myriad things on their own. Experiences like expanding their social circles and finding resources without the guide of professors are the true treasures for them.

In a nutshell, with all the evidences mentioned above, we can justifiably arrive at the conclusion that in order to enjoy a better educational experience, students should choose larger universities or colleges.