Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The best way to truly relax and reduce stress is to spend time alone.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the complex challenges faced by society are rapidly changing the way we live. As a result, more and more people are seeking for ideal lifestyles to release such pressure. Some people argue that spending time solitarily is the best way to relax and reduce stress, others think otherwise. Personally, I would totally agree that the best way to relax is spending time with family and friends. The reasons will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First, spending time with friends and families brings pleasure to people, and helps them alleviate their stress in mundane life. With the companionship of acquaintances, one can be able to relieve stress and achieve a state of contentment. My own experience illustrates this reality. Three years ago, I was prepared for the university entrance exam, and bore tons of pressure. The closer the date of the exam approached, the more stressed I became. Fortunately, my friends invited me to an excursion, which changed my entire perspective. Through discourse and activities, we were able to immerse ourselves in a supportive and mutually beneficial environment that allowed me to shed any derogatory emotions and revel in the moment. Eventually, with their unwavering loyalty and comprehension, I overcame the fear of exam and felt serene in the face of life’s undulations.

Second, devoting quality time to being with loved ones can have positive health outcomes, such as reducing stress. anxiety, loneliness and isolation. Scientists point out that human is a social animal requiring others to survive and live better. In a study carried by the National Institute of Mental Health, researchers found that individuals who had more social support tend to had lower levels of stress or anxiety, with the contribution of certain hormones. Moreover, despite the profound impact on mental health, some scholars indicate that such social connections can lead to improved physical health and well-being. Recent researches done in Tokyo University proved that the risk of cancer has proportional relationship with the degree of social isolation. By prioritizing social connections with family and friends, we can improve our overall health.

Nevertheless, some people may assert that spending time with others can make us exhausted. Also, our expenditure on such activities can increase, too. However, by allocating our time for entertaining with friends more rationally, such problems could be eliminated.

In a nutshell, the merits of being sociable, especially in keeping mental health are obvious, even if some tiresome are entailed. Thus, I believe that the best way to relax is spending time with family and friends.