Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Governments and private companies should share their scientific discoveries with the rest of the world.

Certain scientific inventions or discoveries undoubtedly play significant roles in the development of society. Therefore, some people claim that governments and businesses should keep scientific discoveries a secret. However, I could hardly agree more with the statement that those discoveries should be shared with everyone because those can contribute to the improvement of people's lives. The fundamental and deeper discussions are illustrated as follows.

Sharing discoveries of new alternative sources of energy can help protect the environment. Nowadays, people rely too much on traditional carbon-based fuels, which leads to the production of industrial emissions. People might get diseases due to these emissions. For example, industrial waste water could pollute drinking water and crops and people who consume them would have stomach problems. Therefore, sharing of scientific discoveries could help popularize the use of new clean energy to solve pressing environmental problems. Taking the auto industry as an example, if some companies which own certain technologies that allow the use of new energy sources could share their discoveries with others, clean fuels can be used on more cars to reduce exhaust emission which could be beneficial for environmental protection. However, if those companies choose not to share their new technologies, environmental problems resulting from the use of traditional fuels would not be remedied right away, which could cause negative impacts on the health of future generations.

Additionally, if scientific discoveries could be shared among people from diverse backgrounds, this can greatly improve medical care especially in those developing countries. For one thing, nowadays, the high cost of medical treatment puts significant pressure on people. Sharing new medical technologies can render the treatment to become cheaper than before, thereby reducing people’s financial burdens. For another, many diseases are currently incurable in numerous developing countries and the mortality rate is extremely high. If sharing of such scientific discoveries can be carried out, then healthcare plans of first-world countries could be popularized which might help millions of patients. It can significantly decrease the death rate in developing countries which can further bring about benefits to social stability. By contrast, if governments of first-world countries keep medical discoveries a secret, the society of those developing countries might become chaotic due to having a relatively high death rate, and, in worse situations, could even lead to wars.

To sum up, it is much better to share scientific discoveries worldwide instead of keeping them a secret. Sharing of these discoveries will not only be beneficial to environmental protection, but will also help in the improvement of medical care.