Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

High marks play a remarkable role in students’ performance. Personally, I believe that scores a student earn can persuade him/her to get deep in ocean of knowledge. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, grades are standards and scales that demonstrate students’ evaluation and performance, which means that higher mark is equivalent to higher intelligence. Outstanding students usually don’t want to lose their value, so they always try to achieve high grades to remain in their position. Hence, in order to do so, they try to study and learn new lessons. As a result, every time they get good grades, they are exponentially encouraged to learn more, so that they could maintain their position. My cousin’s example demonstrates that it is true. About five years ago, my cousin was a sluggish guy. However, when he took an international physics exam offered by his school, he became a researcher. The reason is that after taking the test, he got sufficient grades that assisted him to get a scholarship. Now, he is a senior in Yale University and in order to not lose his scholarship, he researches and studies more and more to get good grades for that.

Secondly, great marks intensifies the feeling of competition in students, which encourages them to learn more to get good grades and win the competitions. Furthermore, they try to dig deep and score, so they can be renowned in their school. For instance, when I was in 11th grade, I had many competators. We had weekly tests and the one who scored more was known as school’s leader, so I had to study more and get good grade to get that position. Fortunately, I did so and I became the school’s leader. The score I got inspired me to study more, so I could be able to get the position again.

To put it in a nutshell, I am of the opinion that grades motivated students to study and learn more. This is because they don’t want to lose their value, and because they want to be renowned.