Some people think that the government should use extra money to fund programs to improve the environment.  Others think that it is better for the government to spend money to support artistic programs. Which option do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Global warming and air pollution are two major environmental problems that threaten our lives. The best way to decrease such problems is to take action and run programs and projects. Hence, I think that government should invest on programs that can save environment. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, environment is a part of human’s life where they interact with. If it is polluted, it can adversely affect individual’s health and will endanger their lives. Thus, if government fund programs that can protect the environment, the rate of sickness will drop and the number of causalities made by environmental problems will reduce. For instance, Kabul, the capital of my country, was listed as the first polluted city in the world in 2018, so the number of sick people had increased exponentially last year. As a result, the government run a program named Plant for Peace this year by which fifty-thousand trees were planted across the country and more than hundred-thousand Afghanis were spent. Fortunately, according to local news, the city is cleaner than last year, and it can be seen that the program was very effective.

Secondly, investing on programs to improve environment can help for economy of the country. There are lots of tourists who visit various countries annually, so it is clear that most of them would like to spend some time and enjoy from their visit. If government run programs to improve the environment, the number of tourists will increase, which is a huge assistance to economy of the country. For example, Band-e-Amir is one of the beautiful places of my country. The number of tourists who visit there is more than one-hundred-thousand per year. However, it was not the case three years ago when the place was not clean: it was one of the dirtiest locations of my country. But after a program launched by the government, the site turned in to one of most-visited sites in Afghanistan.

To put it in a nutshell, I believe that it is more important for governments to support programs that are beneficial to the environment. This is because it can save humans’ lives, and because it is significant for economy.