Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Educational systems have diverse parameters to provide the best methods for student's performance. Grading is one of the challenging issues that have a prominent role in this regard. Some people believe that students will not have benefits by given grades. Others, including me, have an opposite viewpoint. I firmly believe that students will be encouraged to learn better by giving scores. In what follows, the most outstanding reasons will be scrutinized to clarify the importance of grades.

First and foremost, grades are good indicators for students to be aware of their progress. There is no doubt that students need something to check their educational conditions. Using scores brings them this opportunity to trace different manners related to what they learned before and what they should learn in the future to be successful. Let us consider my own personal experience as an example. When I was an elementary student, our school policy was evaluation students by quality expressions instead of giving marks for final performance. I was always confused with my drawbacks. In fact, there was not an opportunity for me to know in which issues I should improve my performance. However, after the final exams my teachers gave me the fantastic expression, I had several problems with some of my lessons. In face, I did not any strong motivation to read more for learning. Eventually, I decided to change my school for next year. The new school had a different strategy for evaluation by assign marks for each of the lessons and it paved the way for me to have remarkable progress in my lessons. That is why the grading systems are better for students to learn more and effectively.

A furthermore significant point is that, grades help students to identify their mistakes. Having the comprehensive knowledge of the previous mistakes during doing assignments and exams students will be able to modify them to learn better. In other words, they have to study hard and pay special attention to all the related details. For instance, my brother as a high school teacher implements grading for students. He always explains the advantages of marks to students about presented modification in their wrong answers. One of the students could achieve fantastic results in the national entrance exams with these modifications. It prevents making repetitive mistakes by students. On the other hand the other students in another class whose teacher did not give them score for their answers could not persuade students to learn more concepts to have a better performance in the mentioned exam. Had my brother use any other strategy for evaluation of students, they would not have had excellent opportunity to correct their mistakes.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that allocation grades to students can be rational method for the learning process. Not only can students trace their progress, but also they have this chance to modify their mistakes. Therefore, it is highly recommended for educational systems to have the most efficient outcomes related to student's activities.