You are helping to select a leader for a student organization or a group. Do you think a person’s honesty is the most important characteristic for being a leader?

Leaders have always been one of the significant parts of the groups. They lead the group to be successful in their way. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this point is that what is the most important characteristic for a good leader? Some people believe that a leader should be a diligent person during his activities and this can be considered as the main factor. Holding a different viewpoint, I firmly believe that honesty is far more important for leaders. In what follows, I will scrutinize the most outstanding reasons to clarify the importance of being honest with a leader.

First and foremost, the higher level of being honest, the stronger relationships will create among the group members. Followers need to have proper communications with each other to have the best performance in their activities. Having friendly and strong relationship paves the way for success. Regarding this point, an honest leader helps to make this positive atmosphere. For instance, I had been working as a mechanical engineer in a design group three years ago before I changed my position to another one. At that time, our leader was be known as an honest person. He always held a special meeting with group members and during these meetings he talked based on his honest feature. Therefore, we did not have any concerns about giving ideas and recommendations to each other. As you can see the leader's honesty is an essential element for building a useful relationship between group members

A furthermore significant point is that followers will be aware of their works consequences and results. Nobody can ignore the paramount importance of modification in team-work. When an honest leader presents the faults and further needed actions to followers honestly, they will be able to recognize them easily. Needless to say, this procedure has a profound effect on the efficiency of a group. Let's consider my younger brother's experience. He works as a painter in a well-known company. His leader always tries to notice the group members about their drawbacks in an implementation of specific styles. Consequently, he asks them to amend the mentioned faults to create better paintings. As a result, they experience fantastic improvement in their works. Had not the leader made notifications with honesty to the followers, they would not have chosen as a professional group throughout the country.

In brief, by taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that honesty plays the most prominent role in leadership. Not only does it improve the strong relationship between the leader and the followers, but also followers will be able to detect their drawbacks during their activities. Therefore, leaders should pay special attention to this characteristic as much as possible in order to reach final targets effectively.