Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The internet has had a positive impact on humanity.

Being in the 21st century is living in the digital world. The human race hasn't seen the use of technology at this rate before, which has eventually made the internet an important part of our life. I believe the internet has a more negative impact on humanity than being positive. I have several reasons for this which I will explore ahead.

First of all, we all have been virtually active than being active in reality. For instance, today children are connected to their parents on all social media platforms but hardly meet them in person even though they live in the same house. There are plenty of surveys found that suggest that people being a virtual environment lack many social skills and they tend to avoid any social gatherings. This kind of behavior only makes children more and more self-centered and they lack the sense of family bonding. They become more comfortable in their virtual space than in the real one. But in life to some extent only we can be virtual as being social animals we require human touch or presence to survive. This feeling increases the sense of humanity within us. There will be no empathy between human beings as they have only known a person distantly. People won't be able to understand what other person is going through and rather than helping we might ignore them.

Additionally, the internet can be considered as a boon as we can do anything and everything online it may be ordering food to pay bills. But all this has lead to a society where humans are lacking their original social behavior which in turn may be an alarming factor for rising mental health issues. Everyone on the internet supports by posting images or twitting about any unfortunate incident, only a few people help the person being affected in the incident. During old times, people used to stay in joint families in India. Which in a way used to be beneficial for young children in the house as they used to naturally inculcate some of the important values and virtues one of them was empathy from their elder siblings or grandparents. Today these families stay far from each other and making it difficult for children to imbibe such values as their parents are busy working, all these children have is television to watch or the internet to explore. This might sound beneficial at first but these children play violent games over the internet and lose the sense of humanity in many ways that can be counted. This makes them violent in real life too, rather than helping a needy person they tend to ignore them as they think it isn't their responsibility to help someone in need. If these children were able to spend time with the elderly they might have learned one to two values instead of from them.

In conclusion, the internet is need for an hour but the use of it impacting our society in different ways leading us to a society where empathy doesn't prevail. The use of the internet in adequate amounts can lead us to a better future but excessive use of it is making us less and less human more of the machine. Eventually, it will lead to the generation of people who lack humanity which is the base of the human race.