In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The choice of giving importance to imagination than to knowledge in professional field is trivial one. In fact, it is expected from people working in any field to have creative thinking to excel in their profession, which might sound fair but does impede people who are knowledgeable from shining in their academics or profession. The prompt recommends that people should emphasize more on their imagination than on gaining knowledge. In my opinion, I disagree with this suggestion and suggest that people should be more knowledgeable than being imaginative.

To begin with, nothing was discovered in this world based on just imagination. Solid backing knowledge is required to develop things and to excel in one's profession/academics. For instance, Steve Jobs can be fancied as imaginative person but his huge contribution to digital world depicts his brilliance and knowledge . If he was assumed to be only imaginative it won't be possible for him or for his company to provide the world with iPhone. This depicts that giving utmost importance only to imagination and no giving any attention to gaining knowledge would lead a person to devastating career.

Further, if everyone in their profession started believing imagination to be at the core of their profession/academics would do less good than harm. For instance, if teacher in school isn't knowledgeable but does have good imagination wouldn't be capable of teaching students fundamental math or science required. Consequently, it will lead in whole generation of students who are less knowledgeable and they more relying on imagination ignoring the possibilities of such behavior. Above example illustrates, relying completely on ingenuity and ignoring need of knowledge would lead an individual to more unstable profession. Furthermore, one might lose self-confidence as part and parcel of providing more value to imagination instead of knowledge. In near future we might have many creative ideas but no prudent person to implement them in reality.

Imagination is mother of invention is quite true in most of the cases. But it these inventions weren't arrantly dependent on imagination they were possible because of relentless research which came through knowledge that the inventor possessed. So giving imagination more importance than knowledge in profession/academics would be most appropriate choice by any individual.