Do you agree or disagree with following statement

The increase in automation will lead to people losing their jobs.

Technology has always been evolving. People in the 1950s won't have believed that we would be able to talk to a person on screen and feel just like they are actually in front of us. I agree with the prompt that an increase in automation will lead to people lose their jobs and to warrant the same I have two reasons.

Firstly, technology won't stop evolving. Being human beings we will always try and find solutions to our problems that could make our daily life easier and easier. For instance, consider the invention of barcodes, if barcodes weren't invented many people would still have jobs at local grocery stores. As there comes enhancement in technology some sector of people is going to lose their jobs. If they still want to pursue the same field they might need to upskill themselves or else choose a completely different field to work in. This can be thought of as disheartening, but the positive side is that we are making progress every day. As the newer inventions are made the job of many people are going to be obsolete and they'll have to learn something new.

Secondly, as we stay in the digital world we are about to experience more and more automation in our daily life. For example, now we have personalized robots to clean houses that are based on artificial intelligence. This does hamper the jobs of cleaning staff as they'll be replaced by a machine and in return, they would be losing their jobs. As matter of fact, no field in the world has seen an evolution in which people aren't losing jobs. So the generations ahead there would be a lot of people losing jobs just because their job was done by some robot or a computer. There are plenty of examples showing us the same such as people losing jobs because of a computer program. This might sound a little hypothetical but it isn't, recent survey has found out that many people are losing their job as the computer program was able to do the same task more efficiently with less cost. Data entry is one such task, nowadays there are computer programs that run in the background and complete the work of data entry in an hour or two which normal human beings might take a day. So this depicts that as technological advancements happen there is a chance for people to lose their jobs.

In conclusion, it is hard to predict whether we will be having our jobs in the future or not as advancements in automation might make our current job obsolete. As we have seen over the period that, any new technological advancement does take away the jobs of certain people. But this does not mean we will be replaced by machines completely it just means that we need to upskill, just as the people did when the computers were used in our day-to-day life.