Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The issues facing the environment are so complicated that individuals acting alone have no power to affect them. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Undoubtedly, environmental problems play a significant role where people work or play. Some people may think that individuals' actions are not very helpful handling with such issues, while other thinks that definitely there are some effective ways that each person can do. If I had to choose one, I will say that there are many things we can do that have a power to affect the environmental issues.

To begin with, reducing the trashes produced from our houses helps reduce the contamination of lands and seas. The volume of wastes each individuals produce may be small, but as they sum up to a large amount, they do have a detrimental effect to the health of our environment. Already, many of wild animals living in either lands or seas suffer from leaked trashes. According to research, however, if we reduce only 10% of our wastes, a lot of wilderness can be preserved and the speed of decreasing in size of available lands will be a lot slower than before. As such, more efforts to control household wastes can largely contribute to the reduction of contamination.

On top of that, by using public transportation such as buses and subways rather than our own cars, we can handle the air pollution quite effectively. It is well known that many kinds of gas emitted by cars such as carbon dioxide have lots of bad effect in our environment. South Korea had been suffered from air pollution, so the government attempted to solve this problem in many ways. One of them was to encourage citizens to use buses and subways. In this context, the former mayor of Seoul had created a vast subway network throughout Seoul, and installed a mangeable system to control it. As a result, more people started to use subways, and the air pollution has been largely decreased since then. Accordingly, by reducing the number of usages of personal cars, the air pollution can be handled pretty effectively.

All things considered, they are many ways such as reducing household wastes or using public transportation we can do that have power to cope with various environmental issues. In this regard, I strongly believe that personal actions can sum up to a powerful influence, making it possible to handle problems in our environment.