In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author argues that it is always beneficial to have discussion among people with contrasting points of view to make a progress. While this may seem plausible in certain cases, there are circumstances that the author may not have considered.

Admittedly, discussion among people with various aspects can sometimes be helpful. Indeed, the opinions from several kinds of people help produce a balanced approach and prevent progress from being excessively biased. For example, many countries have policies to prevent the concentration of powers, namely separation of powers, to consider several aspects and make less biased political decisions. Moreover, discussion among people with only a specific viewpoint may lead to some form of dictatorship, for instance Adolf Hitler, who became a cause of World War II and eventually put the world into a disaster. Accordingly, based on the above examples, the author’s assertion seems plausible to some degree.

Nevertheless, in some situations, discussion among people with different viewpoints can hinder the progress. This is because some people are not likely to cooperate with people with different standpoints and believe that other opinions are wrong or seriously flawed. For instance, it is widely believed that many of the old countries before Korea had been fallen, largely due to wasteful contentions among several parties. People from these parties had little intention to even partially admit the others’ opinions, and these countries eventually became susceptible to invasions of nearby enemies. Also, there are some cases where dictatorship accelerated the development of a country. For instance, Lee Kuan Yew, albeit controversial, greatly influenced the political and economic development of Singapore. It is often said that if he took every other view into consideration, the rapid development of Singapore would not be possible. Hence, there are many cases where the author’s claim isn’t acceptable.

There is a Korean adage saying that having too many sailors leads the boat to a mountain. While there are many situations where discussion among people with several viewpoints help progress to a right direction, in some cases it may be better to have people with similar opinions to make a progress. Therefore, a balanced decision should be made in discussing among people for progress.