Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people think that scientists and other researchers should only work on research areas that leads to direct benefits for a large number of people. While it is agreeable to some extent that focusing on those fields may be more favorable, this essay will contend that this is not always the best decision. Instead, there are also advantages coming from research and development that in its current state doesn't seem directly beneficial to people.

Admittedly, it is important to work on researches that are likely to provide great convenience or happiness to a great number of people, for it can make people's daily lives more efficient and accelerate the productivity of their works. For one, Thomas Edison had a will to provide everyone a long-lasting source of light, did a lot of work to find a material to compose an efficient filament for light bulb, and eventually invented a practical electric light bulb. After his invention, most of the people were given a stable light source, which greatly improved their convenience. For another example, Edward Jenner wanted to defeat the smallpox which had been an epidemic disease that threatened lots of people. He did a research for a long period of time trying to find a smallpox vaccine, and finally succeeded in creating a vaccine using cowpox. Later, his work on smallpox vaccine became widespread throughout the world, and eventually humans were completely free from the fear of smallpox. As shown in the above examples, there are many cases where focusing on such areas provided great convenience and health for human race.

Nevertheless, this doesn't mean that only those kinds of research and development deserve spotlight, since there are many cases that didn't seem to have any practical application at time it had discovered but later turns out to have applications that can benefit lots of people. For instance, Sir Isaac Newton's works on physics such as Newton's laws of motion or the discovery of universal gravitation are now assessed as one of the great achievements in natural science, but at the time they were only theoretic and didn't have any application that directly affect people's lives. However, lots of mechanical machines easily found in factories are based on mechanical engineering, which is obviously built upon Newton's physics. Moreover, many great mathematicians such as Karl Weierstrass or Évariste Galois, acknowledged respectively as the fathers of mathematical analysis and algebra, were far from considering practical application or benefits to human. Nonetheless, these mathematics became the groundwork of aforementioned physics and engineering, and today there is no doubt on the usefulness of these mathematics. As such, the above examples prove the necessity of scienctific research that seemingly have no benefits to people.

Therefore, it is logical to say that research and development without practical purposes also has a potential to benefit the greatest number of people, in that it may help develop another research area that has an obvious practical application. For example, there are various advanced mathematical fields such as differential geometry and functional analysis that looks like they are excessively involved and are only of interest to pure mathematicians. However, artificial intelligence (AI) technology, which is everywhere in our lives these days, has achieved great advancement in recent years with aid of those intricate mathematics. Thus, many of the mathematicians nowadays engage in a joint project with AI researchers, and their works influence our lives in ways such as AI assistant and recommendation systems. This means that lots of works on research areas that are not likely to have any direct application to a great number of people can potentially benefit those people in some indirect ways.

In sum, it is partially agreeable that focusing on areas that likely to have beneficial influences on people is important. However, in view of the above discussion, it is equally important that many of the researchers work on areas that don't seem to have the effects. Moreover, these two kinds of research areas are not mutually exclusive and can encourage significant advancements to each other.