Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be above average at many things than be excellent at one thing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which is the best choice: cunning at one skill or the ability to do many things at an average level? If I had to choose between two of these options, I would pick excellent and talent at one thing for several reasons, and I will develop my opinion in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, being above average at many things means several doors would be open to you. For instance, job opportunities, another income source, travel worldwide. Many companies, for example, require some skill at an average level. On the other hand, having one skill will always limit your chances in life. I have to admit that my own experience has profoundly influenced my opinion on this matter. After graduating, I learned the Japanese language, which was a hard skill to obtain. However, my hard work paid off; I got a job opportunity in a Japanese company specializing in the chemical industry. You can see that learning another skill might give you a huge opportunity in life. While limiting yourself to only one skill might do the opposite and reduce your chances.

Furthermore, having multiple skills would boost confidence. Successful people with many skills have high self-esteem, even if they do not master these skills. Confidence is a crucial feature of success in life. Conversely, being skillful in only one thing might make the individual less confident and always feel the necessity to excel in another skill. Drawing from my experience, I was not skillful in the Matlab program at the university and only focused on my study.

On the other hand, many of my colleagues were good programmers and had average knowledge of the Matlab program. As a result, I always felt shame and a lack of confidence when anyone asked me about the Matlab program. And I still think the same. I always refuse to answer or work on anything related to this program.

In light of the reasons mentioned above, I firmly believe that people should always try to gain as much as possible of skills and talents in their life.