Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Without doubt, in the sophisticated and progressive world in which we live, human beings are equipped with a potent weapon known as knowledge in order to live their lives consciously. There exists a debate among people whether or not having extensive knowledge of many academic subjects are more noteworthy than being professional in one specific subject. Personally, I am of the opinion that getting specialized in one specific field is better than gaining superficial knowledge of various subjects. In the following paragraphs, two reasons to corroborate my idea are provided.

To begin with, getting specialized in one specific field will increase people’s self-confidence when they are talking about topics related to their specialized field of study. In today’s modern world, there are numerous branches of knowledge that each of them, in turn, play a crucial role in human beings’ lives. Because of the vast scope of these branches of knowledge, no one can decisively talk about a particular subject unless she or he conduct an in-depth study concerning that. Consequently, this deep study and specialization will lead them to have confidence in their talks or acts and to be aware of the decisiveness of their claims. If one had superficial and scattered knowledge in various topics instead of being specialized in one, they would always be doubtful about the correctness or erroneousness of their thoughts and talks.

Secondly, specialization in one particular field boosts the chance of getting hired at a job related to that. In this competitive world, everyone is striving to enrich their resume and acquire the career that they love. Obviously, for a specific job position, an employer needs someone who is professional enough in order to diminish possible errors that can damage the company. Therefore between all of the applications, one will win this competition that can guarantee the employer an efficient performance in the job and minimum margin for error which is gained only by being specialized in the field pertinent to the job. My personal experience in being hired for an outstanding company can be a compelling example of this. I’ve studied chemical engineering in college and majored in CO2 Capture and Storage methods. When I applied for a vacancy about the separation of CO2 from the atmosphere at one of the greatest companies in my country, the employer told me he couldn’t find anyone better than me for this position due to my specialization. If I hadn’t majored in that specific field, I wouldn’t have succeeded in getting that specific job.

In conclusion, although some people believe that it is more beneficial for them to have basic knowledge of various subjects, considering the reasons mentioned above, I strongly assert that specializing in one particular field is of paramount importance. Since not only will being professional enhance people’s confidence in what they are saying or acting concerning their major, but also it will improve the chance of getting a job in that field.