Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that in the progressive world in which we live, advertising is of paramount importance to firms in order to boost their products sale. In this regard, there exists a debate among people as to whether or not advertisements exaggerate the advantages of their products. Personally, I hold the view that companies represent their goods in an overstated manner while advertising. In the following paragraphs, two reasons to corroborate my idea are provided.

To begin with, serious competition among firms leads them to exaggerate more about their commodities and attract customers’ attention. In today’s modern world, a specific product might be produced by multiple companies, which creates competition between them in selling their goods. If a firm did not succeed in selling its commodity to the extent that it can make a profit, it would be at high risk of bankruptcy. In this vein, every firm is looking for avenues and strategies to win more sales deals, like presenting some specific and unreal features for its own products in order to guarantee customers a distinct product more beneficial than its competitors. Therefore, the more competitions among companies, the more they overstate the benefits of their products.

Secondly, puffery in advertising is a strategy to persuade potential customers and convey this message that the product about which an advertisement is broadcasting satisfies the needs of the customers precisely. With this in mind, a company uses various methods for puffery such as using fancy phrases and words, fictional pictures and videos, and celebrities in order to impress their target audience. To illustrate, I have recently watched an advertisement on television about an apparatus used for orderly cutting food materials such as potato, carrot, onion, and to name but a few, which I had used some other similar utensils which had not been effective. Although I decided not to trust similar goods, that advertisement using some convincing videos overemphasized that it could cut any of these materials without any problem, and I thoroughly persuaded that this one was what I wanted. However, when I bought that apparatus, it did not function the same as one that had being advertised. If it had not been that exaggeration and puffery in that advertisement, I would not have convinced to try that apparatus.

In conclusion, although some people believe that companies advertise their products in the same way that they are, considering the reasons mentioned above, I am of the opinion that not only the strong competition between firms causes them to exaggerate about their goods while advertising, but also they use puffery in order to persuade and impress their potential customers profoundly.