Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is better to study science in university than to study the arts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Colleges and universities are places where students receive a variety of information, form their own social circles, and exchange ideas. I am totatlly agains the idea that universities should focus more on science than on the arts. In my opinion, studying science and arts are equally important, and students should spend equal amount of time in each field. The following paragraphs provide reasons that examine my thoughts.

First and foremost, university students are in the age of preparing to enter society, so they should expand their knowledge to experience and learn as many different things as possible. In fact, adults in society nowadays should possess certain skills in order to tackle with all the different tasks: fixing worn-out housing equipment, decorating their own gardens, driving their kids to schools, etc; fixing broken apparatus requires certain science background and embellishing the gardens also necessitate basic arts skills such as cutting and painting. Not to mention, without these fundamental life skills, human beings cannot live by themselves. As a result, students ought to seize the opportunities they still have before entering society. They should be exposed to ideas and opinions within different fields, not only to science and arts. For example, my uncle engaged in eleven different clubs while in college, and he also double majored in biology and art history; this allowed him to become well-rounded as an adult. He fixes all dilapidated equipment in his house and does the lawns all by himself.

What's more, companies and graduate schools today put strong emphasis on works and activities of each applicant. These institutions would prefer candidates that partake in various activities; they are less likely to accept individuals who only specialize in certain area. Instead, these schools and firms would like to see colorful resumes; for example, as my counsin applied to medical schools in her junior year in college, she listed all the activities and works that she had done in the past. She is extremely curious and talented. She exposed hersefl to as many activities as she possibly could; she was the captain of the volleyball team, the leading researcher at her immunology lab, the teaching assistant for his organic chemistry professor, the champion of the school's arts contest, and a leader of a fundraising event. She not only excelled in science and arts, but she also gained significant recognition in many other fields; all professors loved her and wrote her extraordinary letters of recommendation. Eventually, she was proudly accepted to 16 medical schools out of the 20 schools that she applied for, including Harvrd medical school, Yale medical school, Standford medical school, etc.

To sum up, the statement is not as persuasive as it stands. Based on expositions proposed in the previous paragraphs, including the requirements of various skills in the future as an adult and the emphasis all the institutions put on, studying science and the arts are of equal importance.