Some people prefer having deep knowledge about one particular subject, while others prefer having general knowledge about many subjects. Which do you prefer and why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Nowadays, people all around the world starts to engage in a wider range of activities that are either indoor or outdood. Whether indoor or outdoor, having a great variety of knowledge on different topics or in disparate fields would be beneficial. Personally, I am in favor of knowing knowledge in miscellaneous subjects rather than diving really deep into a particular field. I think this way for mainly two reasons, which will be explored in the paragraphs that follow.

First and foremost, people should absorb knowledge in different topics to braoden their horizon and to see the world in different perspectives. This not only allows them to partake in various activies, but it also gives them the opportunities to befriend with people from other cultural, ethnic, and national backgrounds. This is best exemplified by my personal experience. In 2015, my family traveled to Japan for tourism purpose. We went to Sapporo to all the different sites, including ice cream stores, central park, sky tower, etc. At each location, I made different friends. In the ice cream shop, I started to chat with the associate about the ice cream-making processes because I am really a huge fan of ice crean; at the central park, I talked to a Japanese female in Japanese and English, I figured that she did not speak much English, so we spoke mostly in Japanese, and we conversed about the history of the park, from how it was constructed to why it went under three further renewed constructions; on the top of the sky tower, I, again, bantered with an old man about his experience as a Japanese soldier during the WWII, where he served as a pilot. I immediately recognized that I had the ability to start conversations with people from different parts of society, and this further reinforced my opinion to gain more knowledge on different subjects.

Furthermore, knowing many things and possessing knowledge on different subjects allow people to provide support and assistance to others in times of need and emergency: a disaster, a family issues, or professional request. These may all result in problems within a family. If people have the knowledge to provide comprehensive help, it would be really supportive and beneficial. For example, my next-door neighbor was called by his boss for a mandatory presentation at his company; this presentation is to be given to the company's new clients, and if he does not attend, he will be fired immediately. As a result, he was desperately in need of someone to take care of his one-year-old daughter and a teenage boy at home. Being aware of his emergency, my mother told him that she got this and went to his house right away. This job was a piece of cake for my mom as she has a general knowledge of many subjects. She took care of the baby's physiological needs, inlcuding food, milk, excretion, and affection. She constantly changed her diaper.l as for the teenage boy, she was able to taught him math, physical science, arts, and history. After my neighbor returned, he appreciated my mom for being so supportive and appreciated her ability to manage his two kids so well without any difficulties. My mom gave me a lesson on how to manage my adult life: the gist is to know everything but don't just know one subject.

To sun up, having knowledge about a lot of subjects is a really important element in one's life. This not only helps oneself to grow and know more people, but it also allows a person to lend a hand to those who have difficulty with their life.