Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Athletic activities and interpersonal interactions should receive the same amount of financial resources in colleges and universities. I am absolutely in favor of this idea and would support it in all aspects. In the following paragraphs, there will be reasons that justify my opinion towards consenting with the concept.

First of all, all activities should be funded equally to promote the well-roundedness of all students in the college environment. This allows students to explore their interests and hobbies in the variety of choices provided by the school. Most importantly, future careers in sports have been significantly valued in recent years. Basketball leagues, football teams, baseball games, etc. all attract millions of audiences, and this provide the industry of sports events unforseen motivation to continue. This is best exemplified by my personal experience. I have always dreamed of pursuing a career in the field of basketball. However, in my college life, the little amount of fund for our sports events precluded me from continue my basketball journey due to the lack of resources to hire coaches. As a result, I decided to transfer to a university that is larger in size, which has better financial support for each department and provide more comprehensive extracurriculars.

Secondly, developing exercise habits or sports participation can't be less important than having a beneficial or relaxing social circle. Physical activities help students engage in body movement; thus, students would be less prone towards obesity. In addition, engaging in physical activities is not only conducive to better health, but it is also a means to meet new faces and build relationships with other people on the court or in games. Take my own example: every time I play basketball, I would meet new friends. One particularly memorable game took place when I was a sophomore in high school. My team played with another group of students of which I knew none. After all the interesting moves and dunking, I asked some of the students from the other team to teach me different skills. We later build friendships and have become forever companions since then.

Third, sports is just as pivotal as social activities in that it helps relax and relieve stress after a long day of stressful events. In fact, playing sports allows our brain to release endorphins, a type of neurotransmitters that help us cope with stress. For instance, I would feel calming and relaxing after each basketball game. In times of stress due to academics, I would just relax and allow myself to be in the cours and free myself. Afterwards, I would redirct myself in my study and find a better solution for each strenuous task.

To recapitulate, I totally agree that sports should receive same support financially with other social activities. The reasons are that it helps us become more well-rounded, allows us to move more frequently to improve our wholesomeness, and is beneficial to our stress management.