Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Few can be as essential as friendship in our daily life. As everyone will be bound to some other people in their life time, one debate about whether maintaining friendship with old friends are more vital than making new friends, remains thought-provoking. To my mind, I disagree with the argument.

First and most foremost, people are bounded together to become friends because of the same value system, when we are trying to saving a friendship, it probably means the common belief between our friends and us disappear. To be specific, we just come to the question from very beginning: how a person would become our friend. Most people know their friends firstly because they are ‘funny’, but if the relationship need to be further developed towards friendship, other factors would be added in. Some is about characteristics, when we are talking about a people and describe him a gentle man. Some is about believes, such as a person who mentioned as a dreamer. To sum up, we are focusing on people’s value systems when choosing friends. It is the similar value system that really attach people together. However, when time passes by, and those shared the same value systems do not believe it anymore, a crack appears between us, and now we are considering ‘maintaining’ a friendship. Although some efforts are put in, it cannot really save the friendship, but just put off the time it expires, for those efforts hardly change the value system of a person. So why not saving time and just let it go?

Secondly, new friends can expand my horizon, it is a good way to learn, to find advantages from others. One of my Russian friend is cited as example, who came to Hong Kong to finish his master degree last year. I met him on the campus, and we found each other fantastic! He knew many things I had never heard, so this new friend really expand my horizon. He does not similar to any of my old friends, hardly to imagine how I would receive so much knowledge without him.

Yet I have to admit that an old friend is sometimes more trustworthy than new a friend, trying your best to maintain a relationship sounds like a terrible idea. On the other hand, a new friend sharing the same value systems would benefit you a lot without a huge effort to keep. So, in conclusion, I do not agree that a person should spend more time on keeping old friends rather than making new friends.