Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should support scientific research that does not have any practical use in the short term

Witnessed by the rapid progress of economy throughout the world, governments are more willing to support the research than ever before. In many countries, science researches become one of the main focus of the country, meanwhile consuming a huge amount of money. As a result, a debate on whether the authorities should support scientific research that does not have particle uses, remains wide-spread. For my part, I think it is necessary for the authorities to support those researches.

Admittedly, scientific researches which have an immediate benefit are welcomed through both the governments and the investors. To governments, since the research institution could afford their expenditure themselves, government could save some money and invest it on other infrastructure parts. To investors, together with a good reputation of supporting science, their investing also makes big money for them. To be specific, a further example comes mainly from some popular parts such as computer science. According to Xinhua News Agents 3 March, the total number of Internet users had increased to 4.0 billion globally until 2018. The large demand from users contribute to the huge profits of the field. The prosperity of the computer science definitely brings our life quite a lot immediately, but this does not mean those researches that do not have an obviously benefit are meaningless.

Researches seem useless today might create a huge amount of possibility in the future. When Einstein first put forward The Relativity Theory, it is hard for common people at that time to imagine the deep influence the theory brings. One of the applications of the theory is GPS, which make it possible for the airplane to cross miles over the ocean and bring people abroad back to their home. That is just one typical ‘useless’ research at that time, but is proved to be one of most essential found in the 20th century. Government focusing on the current benefits are short-sight, for even the cleverest man finds it hard to see the potentials of a research in a long term.

Since some of the researches do not produce immediate benefits in a short term, the invests from the countries become more vital to the research institution. Public investors focus on short term profits, who are unlikely to be attracted by researches with low input-output ratio. Some treatments and medicine research of rare diseases are cited as example, which usually consume a huge amount of equipment, but have a relative small chance to succeed. Even if those researches succeed, due to the rarity of the diseases, the profits are hardly to cover the cost. Without the governments’ help, it would be hard for these kind of researches to be conducted.

In a nutshell, based on the previous discussion, although the future usage of some scientific researches remain unclear, I believe the government should still put some efforts on supporting them.