Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?•Interrupt and correct the mistake right away.•Wait until the class or meeting

In contemporary society, how to correct people’s errors has become a challenge to our life. Most of us would have such a situation: when taking a course or attending a meeting, we find views of the speakers are contradict to our views. So meanwhile, we are facing a dilemma to decide what we should do, to point out directly or just keep silence and say nothing? For me, most of the time, I would prefer to further explain the problem privately with the speaker after the meeting or class.

It is very typical for some warm-heart people to choose interrupt the speaker, and point out his fault directly, which I think is quite impolite and inefficient. The biggest concern is that it force the meeting to stop suddenly, without caring about the other listeners. That is to say, the speaker may have his own plan of the speech, but the interrupting prompt him to stop and to explain, which would damage his origin plan. Thus, some parts of the speech may remain unfinished due to the time spent on explanation. This is impolite to not only the speaker, but also all the listener, who planned to listen to a complete speech but only get a part.

However, I do not think keep silence all the time would be a good idea. To the speaker, if no one print out his errors, he may keep the mistaken conception all the time. To the listener, they might think the incorrect answer is truth! An illustrating example is that supposing we are in a physic class now, and every students are listening to the professor carefully. Then when the professor is trying to solve a problem, I suddenly find an equation on the blackboard does not violate the Newton’s Law! I will not point out directly, or the professor may have to postpone his plan. But if I do not say a word, many students would be confused. How can we find a balance between not interrupting the speaker and making the speaker know something goes wrong?

I would argue the best solution for this dilemma is to talk with the speaker when the speech is over. In one hand, it keep the integrity of the speech and give the speaker enough respect. On the other hand, the discussion between us enables us to comprehend the problem more thorough, and when the speaker notice his mistake, he could take measures to make up his negligence. This solution balance the both sides of listener and speaker, solving the problem but keeps polite and elegant.

In a nutshell, based on the previous discussion, I believe the best way to express your questions is to talk with the speaker personally after the speech. Other methods are useful in some situations, but bring too many side effect most of the time.