Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Making friends and keeping them is a very challenging and significant thing in our lives since it is getting more difficult to trust and get on well with people as we grow up. Therefore, I agree with the statement of it is more important to keep old friends than making new ones. My reasons are going to be explained in this essay.

First, all individuals built their characters since childhood with their friends, family and their growing environment. It is simpler to make friends in early ages because, we would not approach people with any prejudgements hence, we accept them in the way they are. In time, these friends that we made in our past start to stay or leave because of the conditions of the life itself. If a friend of ours gives us the feeling of trust, honesty and sincierity then we try to keep them in our daily life. Thus, meeting them, chatting with them and so on become a enjoyable routine. The sense of knowing a friend like this in our lifes keeps us happy, calm and stable. Because, we would be aware of the fact that there are people that we can count on any time for any circumstance.

Second, making friends in business life or in any working environment is so tough and I personally do not believe that it is possible. Why? Because, people become more selfish and careless every single day. Moreover, these self centered people would like to manipulate the actions and others in the way they could get advantage and benefit. In this cold business world the thisng which has the greatest importance is to defence ourselves and keep our eyes open in order to not to get hurt.

Third, of course we will keep meeting new people since the humankind is social creature however, it is significant to keep the distance and learn the properties and priorities of these people. Because, we have to be aware of that not everyone comes into our lives to have fun and live a well built friendship. There are many people who are able and willing to do anything for their goals including using others like puppets. My reasons may seem pesimistic but I know that the world we live in pushes me to consider the occasions that way.

As a conclusion, giving a shot to get to know the others in time is nice however, it is way more important to keep the old true friends in our lives.