Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

Nowadays, there are many sources of news that each of them presents some aspects of the events. Due to the paramount importance of the source of the news in people's view, a heated debate exists over whether how should people catch the news efficiently. I firmly believe that people should try to get the latest news from the others who have the different viewpoints on issues. Not only can they comprise them with their own understanding about different subjects, but also, they will be familiar with different aspects of the events.

First and foremost, people can make a comparison between what they really think about something and what the others believe. This comparison often paves the way for further investigation by people to analyze the real circumstances. Consequently, having comprehensive knowledge about an issue will challenge their previous viewpoints. Nobody can ignore the importance of this procedure on elevating the level of awareness in societies. In other words, this method allows people to have a deep sight on a verity of problems. For instance, people who get the economic news from the different sources with different opinions, not the same as their own, will be able to analyze them with their calculations about specific financial matters. As a result, the most reasonable answers will be extracted by this comparison on monetary issues.

The second point is that the more variety of opposite viewpoints on a subject, the more unknown aspects will be clarified for people. It's obvious that each event has different aspects which special group of people with biased opinions cannot present them well to others. In fact, they just present some parts of the story. The other parts which are often undesirable for them are ignored easily by people. Hence, if a person takes the news from different sources with different viewpoints, all the aspects will be clear to him. Based on my own personal experience, I had a friend who was a serious advocate of democratic groups. He just explained some their opinions about human rights and I as a democratic student, never heard anything about the other aspects of human rights. Participating in a conference with different political viewpoints caused that I am aware the other significant points in this regard. Had I taken the political news from my friend, I would not have had invaluable information about this issue.

By taking into account all the aforementioned reasons, it seems that getting the news from sources with opposite viewpoints is a rational strategy for people. For sake of the brevity, two main reasons are mentioned in this essay to clarify the importance of this viewpoint.