Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to make friends with people who can have fun with us than to make friends with people who can help us when we are in need.

People get many opportunities to meet others on various occasions, such as in schools, workplaces, and at parties. When they socialize in these places, they are more inclined to have conversations if they share similar habits, interests, or lifestyles. And some of them will eventually turn out to be acquaintances and then friends. On the other hand, some people are purpose-driven and consider friendship a formal or professional partnership with others who agree to offer support based on oral promises or written contracts that emphasize mutual benefits. In my experience, after making friends with both types of people, I believe having friends that can have fun together is more important to me than having friends in need.

First, having fun with friends makes my life happier. Their optimistic attitudes lift my spirit and ease my suffering in this competitive and unprecedented world. One of them was Tom, a music student I met at an orientation for international students when I was still a freshman at Temple University. I didn't have a knack for music like him, but as a student majoring in psychology, I was curious about what kind of emotions a song might evoke through different notes. When I brought up this topic with him after we had introduced each other in the greeting section of the orientation, he had the witty idea that sometimes it was better to feel the music with your heart than to analyze it with science. Since then, we have become very close friends, hanging out together, sharing the music we love or dislike, and turning our chests toward each other without any hidden thoughts. These joys and the good times we spent together can not exist in a relationship that labels friends as human resources.

Secondly, thanks to the friends I made through sports clubs, my body and brain have been kept in good condition. We often neglect our health issues as we live in a competitive world where people focus too much on producing practical results. I was one of them until I met friends in a hip-hop dance club. Practicing choreography with them for a few hours a week benefited my mind and body since it increased my stamina and made me happy. Furthermore, even after I graduated from college and left the club, we kept in touch and reminded each other to stay positive and keep fit. If I hadn't met these people in the club, I wouldn't have trained my body and kept optimistic even under pressure or in adverse times.

In short, having fun with friends plays a vital role in keeping my body and mind healthy. Meanwhile, we can be true to them and gain emotional support from each other.