Is progress always good ?

As TV, newspapers, other social medias such as online platforms unremittingly advocate the fruits of science, technology or civilization, few people question the hypothesis that making progresses in domains mentioned above is surely beneficial to humanity or even other species. In reality, nonetheless, this over-simplified assumption is not always the case, if not makes things worse, which can be explained in the following reasons.

First, technological progresses that make our lives better can sometimes brings up undesirable consequences. Ever since our ancestors learn how to utilize various objects as tools to increase their surviving rate and reduce uncertainty in hazardous jungles, we human being keep discover and invent instruments, aiming for better living standards. No doubts that progresses like these are ostensibly good for the improvements regarding either convenience, efficiency or safety. However, one cannot deny that such progresses also lead us to escalate our greed on extracting limited resources faster than their recovery rates and eventually leave less rooms for our future generation to be prosperous. For example, woods are essential for construction, and progresses such as inventing better tools to cut down more trees or making trucks that can transport more lumbers are considered successfully as they boost the profit of the industry, on which many workers' wages rely. Despite these progresses benefit this specific business, it cannot simply be considered as good due to its possible cost, exacerbating deforestation or destroying wild lives habitats that may cause unprecedented troubles in the near future.

Second,with the support of scrupulous research and experiments, scientific progresses occur to have small margin error, yet their danger cannot be omitted especially when their application are used in a large scale. After all, a recent beneficial scientific progress might turn to be a disaster soon after its accumulated pernicious effects are big enough to be noticed. A well-known example substantiating this idea is the generalizing usage of pesticide over these decades. At first, the pesticide that has a strong effect on killing bugs draws worldwide attention and then it is soon applied by many countries on the purpose of yielding more crops. This trend does not last long, however, as the mutation also happens among the insects, weakening its effectiveness. Over these years, a vicious circle has been created, where stronger pesticide has to be invented over a certain period to fight against mutating insects. As a result, aside from the harvest that might contain toxic chemical residuals from the pesticide, now farmers have to deal with not only the poisonous components that can also pollute rivers or other water sources, but also the gene-adjusted insects that immune to pesticide, even the original scientific progress in this products is innovative, the accumulated damage it has been made is so large that people might wish that it is never invented at all.

To sum up, progresses in reality is not always good even in the name of technology or science. More attention is needed to supervised the innovation of

technology in case it is used for selfish profits at the cost of other people's or our offspring's benefits. The same goes with scientific progresses, which

might be good at first, but its side effects can gradually play a vital role on deteriorating our environment or our health.