Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The most important goal of education is to teach people how to educate themselves

It’s undeniable that the most crucial goal of education is constructing the ability of educating themselves. It seems to some people that education’s goal is just give us knowledge and logical thinking. Because they think what we learned from school is enough for our entire life. While I will take this point in a pinch of salt. In my view, people’s ability of educate themselves is essential for the success both in career and life.

First of all, this kind of education can help us success easier. With the development of society and technology, the situation we need to face will be different in some point of time in career. For example, if we entered Nokia when graduated from college few decades ago, we may think we have no need to learn new things, so did our company. But we know, both we and our company are out because of the competition of new technology. The Peking University’s statics figures suggested that the students who keep learning in their life could get 26% average higher than those who don’t learn any more after graduated. So, the desire of new knowledge could give us more opportunities to be successful.

On the other hand, we also have to update our knowledge of life. All of us are not perfect, we may meet a lot of problems such as crises of marriage or mid-life. We can’t learn all these from our school but we do need some knowledge to face these crises. National Bureau of Statistics of China points out 73% of marriages will break in 5 years. When we are in different period of life, we will need different methods to help us feel easy and happiness. The way how to educate ourselves is what we could get from the education of school that benefits us in every possible problem we will meet in our future.

After what we have discussed above, we can easily come to the conclusion that the every moment after we graduated from school, we will always need new knowledge. So it’s important to educate students how to learn by themselves.