Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

From my perspective, the statement that movies and televisions have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave is totally wrong. I believe that movies and television do more good than harm to young people and even society. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate more on my opinion on this statement.

First, it is doubtful that movies and television always make young people do bad things. Even though some youngsters have a tendency to idolize the characters in movies or television, it does not mean that they will do exactly what the particular characters do. In most cases, teenagers learn more from friends or family in real life, not a virtual world.

Second, movies and television have many good influences that people can even imagine. For example, as I mentioned before, some young people tend to consider characters from movies and television to be their idols. While some characters are evil, some characters are good and inspiring. There are tons of people making success and fulfilling dreams just because they are inspired by the character they admire.

Last but not least, it is the education of young people and that leads to behavior. Research shows that teenagers learn more from friends or family. In other words, education has more to do with one's behavior and value. Therefore, it is ridiculous to blame movies and television for bad consequences.