Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the emergence of technology, humans have been blessed with a plethora of hobbies they can opt for. In this so-called “golden age of television”, watching television shows and movies is one of the most popular activities young people choose to do in their leisure time. TV shows and movies can be enriching and enlightening. However, there are some debates among individuals on whether the adverse and negative impacts of television on the behavior of young people outweigh the positive effects. I vehemently cling to the notion that medium such as televisions and movies inflict serious damages on the way young people behave. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into two of my most prominent reasons for advocating this viewpoint. First and foremost, you are what you watch. To delineate, viewing habits can affect the way of thinking, behaviors, preferences, and even cognitive abilities. The results of a social science research conducted recently indicate that depending on the extent to which the medium cover the issues, television shows and movies can drastically influence the patterns of thought, insights and manners. With the ever-increasing pace of modernization, the mass media is being affected as well, sometimes in a negative way. In other words, a sizeable proportion of television series and movies are progressively encouraging violence, irresponsible sexual behavior and normalizing negative traits, such as offensive language. Violent actions and the similar contents continue to be omnipresent in the media. Young people, specifically, are prone to becoming affected by the contents their brains are fed with; whether a mass murderer making the headlines and becoming the hero of disaffected youths, or offensive language being used on every episode. As a result, they might find themselves imitating those aggressive behaviors both consciously and unconsciously, making the society a dangerous place for all families and citizens.

Another equally compelling reason in corroborating my stance lies in the fact that these medias promote social withdrawal and passive entertainments as the answer to a stressful day. To be more specific, watching television can be extremely addictive, meaning that it might dominate the evening routine and easily find its way into becoming a replacement for family and friends' interactions. Having been provided with an opportunity to choose a stealthy lifestyle in which watching movies is an option of entertainment, one will gradually withdraw from the society and eventually become a passive person. An example can drive this notion home. One of my friends in high school had decided to buy a television for her own room. When she did so, she became completely addicted to watching educational television series and she got to a point where she would watch all episodes on a single day. Eventually, she turned into an antisocial person from whom I did not hear much. Her parents were also frustrated with her behavior, and decided to take her to a psychologist. In this case, the harm seemed to come not so much from the content itself but from the fact that it replaced more enlightening ways of spending time.

To put it all in a nutshell, I strongly believe that notwithstanding the high-quality content that television and movies can offer, there are profound negative consequences to young people's abundant and excessive watching on the grounds that they indicate exposure to heavy doses of violence and inappropriate sexuality, as well as promoting a passive and less social lifestyle. There are more grounds that can lend weight to my point of view, but I choose to bring this essay to a close with a question: “What are we willing to give up for the sake of entertainment?”